National Adult and Influenza
Immunization Summit
Home | National Influenza Vaccine Summit | For Healthcare Professionals | For the Public
 NIVS News  
 NIVS Home
 NIVS About
 NIVS Newsletters
 NIVS Meetings
Visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's influenza site to learn what you should know about influenza and to review information for health professionals.
Order free laminated Influenza Pocket Guides for front-line healthcare providers.
2011 NIVS Meeting
The universal recommendation: How did we do, and how do we do better?
Grand Hyatt Manchester in San Diego, California, May 9-11
The recipients of the 2011 Immunization Excellence Awards were announced in a news release on April 29. View the agenda for the special awards presentations and a full description of each award winner here.
View the agenda for the meeting and the special dinner presentations.
Executive Summary and Meeting Report
2011 Meeting Presentations
Download PDF files of the slide presentations from the Summit speakers.
Session One
Future Federal Policy Directions: Influenza Vaccine and Vaccination
Keynote Speaker: Bruce Gellin (DHHS, NVPO)
The 2010-2011 Season: Coverage, Safety, More...
Speaker: Cindy Weinbaum (CDC)
Speaker: Mitch Rothholz (APhA)
Community Immunizers
Speaker: Bonnie Thomas (Summit Community Immunizers Working Group)
Speaker: Elizabeth Rosenblum (AAFP)
Speaker: Linda O'Neal Eckert (ACOG)
Occupational Health
Speaker: Roslyn Stone (Summit Occupational Health Working Group)
Pilot test of NQF Measure on Health Care Worker Influenza Immunization
Speaker: Megan Lindley (CDC)
Department of Defense
Speaker: Col. Wayne Hachey (DoD)
Healthcare Industry Distribution Association
Speaker: Aaron Frazier
GlaxoSmithKline Vaccines
Speaker: Kimberly Bradley
Speaker: Seth Feldman
Merck Vaccines
Speaker: Eddy Bresnitz
Novartis Vaccines
Speaker: Nirupama (Niru) Subramanian
sanofi pasteur
Speaker: Bill Averbeck
Session Two: Advancing Influenza Immunization and Vaccine Efficacy
European Union Influenza Efforts
Speaker: L.J Tan (AMA) on behalf of the European Scientific Working Group on Influenza [ESWI])
Influenza Vaccine Efficacy: A Review
Speaker: Michael Osterholm (University of Minnesota, Center for Infectious Disease Research & Policy)
Influenza Vaccine Efficacy and Effectiveness
Speaker: Arnold Monto (University of Michigan School of Public Health)
Vaccine Efficacy and Influenza Policy
Speaker: Kathy Neuzil (PATH)
New Influenza Vaccine Technologies
Jackie Katz (CDC)
Session Two: Special Summit Awards Lunch Program
Presentations of Summit Award Winners
Mitch Rothholz (APhA)
"Overall Season Activities" Award
Recipient: Walgreens
"Healthcare Personnel Campaign" Award
Recipient: Virginia Mason Medical Center
"Immunization Coalitions / Public Health / Community Campaign" Award
Recipient: Protecting Alachua County From Flu Coalition
"Corporate Campaign" Award
Recipient: Rostros de la gripe Campaign, American Lung Association in collaboration with sanofi pasteur
Session Three: Reaching the Disparate Populations
What is a Health Care Disparity?
Speaker: Catherine Torres (ASTHO [Association of State and Territorial Health Officials])
The DHHS and CMS Effort
Speaker: Bruce Gellin (NVPO, on behalf of Garth Graham, DHHS Office of Minority Health)
The Partnership Center: Center for Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships
Speaker: Kimberly Konkel
African Americans
Speaker: Tiffany Tate
Speaker: Carlos Velazquez
Walgreens Outreach Initiatives
Speaker: Rafael Malpica
American Indians
Speaker: Amy Groom
Session Four: Increasing Coverage and Influenza Communications
Healthy People 2020 Update
Speaker: Abby Shefer (CDC)
ACIP Update
Speaker: Carolyn Bridges (CDC)
National Influenza Vaccination Communication Plans for the 2011 – 2012 Season
Speaker: Kris Sheedy (CDC)
Retail Messaging
Speaker: Jack Cantlin (Walgreens)
Overcoming the Complex Challenge of Influenza Vaccination Messaging: One Size Does Not Fit All
Speaker: Glen Nowak (CDC)
Immunization Action Coalition  |  Litjen (L.J) Tan  |  Saint Paul, MN
Site managed by the Immunization Action Coalition  |  Laurel Wood, MPA, editor  |  Mitch Rothholtz, RPh, MBA, contributing editor